Chapter 12

The Crown Prince’s temperament is surly and haughty. Gu Chen also had a great deal of pride, coming from a noble family full of dragons and phoenixes. Even after becoming a couple, two men with such different temperaments, it is impossible for their relationship to be without friction or dispute…

He Ziming initially deliberately catered to Gu Chen to make him fall in love, but he naturally couldn’t cater to him forever. If he did, he’d be no more than an accessory to Gu Chen’s life, something that Gu Chen kept around because it made him feel good.

His constant catering may cause Gu Chen to have a fondness for him, and perhaps Gu Chen even believes he loves the crown prince. He respects him with a refined, qin se he ming kind of love(TN: a Chinese idiom about two lovers, one famous for playing a zither, the other famous for playing the guqin. It refers to a quiet, harmonious marriage) for a lifetime, but He Ziming will never reach the point of becoming unforgettable to Gu Chen.

He Ziming has always believed that deep love is not this catering, simpering harmony. Rather, two people, who are aware of their differences, who may fight, experience conflict and collisions, but still refuse to let go, refuse to leave their lover. Lovers should run after each other, equally compromising and changing. That is true love.

And what he has to do now is guide Gu Chen’s feelings towards him in this direction, little by little–

Recently, there has been a great deal of friction between Gu Chen and He Ziming. Between their political disagreements, the clash of their temperaments, and He Ziming’s identity as the crown prince, He Ziming has caught Gu Chen in a complete cold war that makes Gu Chen firmly believe that it would be better for the lovers to separate. However, in the end, Gu Chen couldn’t bring himself to decisively break up, and break this cycle of fighting and making up.

He Zisheng, whose blackening value was online, began to stir up trouble between them. He Ziming knew this but pretended not to, and indulged He Zisheng’s behavior.

He needs someone to sharpen the conflict between him and Gu Chen.

He Zisheng is quite scheming. As He Ziming’s beloved brother and Gu Chen’s best friend, he knows just how to speak to each of them to quietly manipulate their feelings. In front of He Ziming, whom he knows values Gu Chen, he will never say bad things about Gu Chen, instead praising him to the sky. But in front of Gu Chen, as his free-spirited friend, he can poke his soft underbelly.

“Ziqing, what’s the matter with you? Did you quarrel with my elder brother again?” Seeing Gu Chen, who had come to him with an enormous frown and asked him to drink wine together, He Ziming guessed that He Ziming and Gu Chen had argued for the first time.

Gu Chen didn’t say a word. He poured a cup of wine and drank it.

He Zisheng sighed, but said consolingly: “My elder brother is accustomed to being the pride of the very heavens. I’m afraid that it has given him an arrogant and aggressive temperament. In addition, with his handsome face, he treats everyone else as a slave beneath him… but you know this, having worked by his side for so long. Originally, I thought that if he took a wife, she could temper his arrogance as a crown prince, molding him into an emperor that will bring endless glory to the people. “

“I didn’t expect it to be you who fell in love with him, Ziqing.” He said from the standpoint of Gu Chen’s friend.

Gu Chen looked up at him in amazement: “Chang’an, what are you saying?”

He did not expect He Ziming to have such an evaluation of He Ziming in front of him today. After He Ziming was drunk on that day, He Zisheng had never again said anything bad about He Ziming before him.

He thought He Zisheng had already changed his views on He Ziming.

“Oh, of course, I don’t mean to say that my elder brother is no good. I know that in his heart he is good-natured, and that he is the best person among all my brothers. He has never had any bad intentions towards people… but his temper is really…” He Zisheng was aware of Gu Chen’s unhappiness towards the Crown Prince, but also understood that no one likes to hear others say bad words about their lovers. He quickly changed his stance. ” The pride of the emperor is naturally higher than those beneath him, and we must all become accustomed to it. Even if it is unintentional, I believe he will never learn to respect others. In front of him, you must remember that this companion is like a tiger, and you have to learn to tolerate it. If Ziqing is uncertain, than I think that the relationship is not good…”

“But, Ziqing …” He cut himself off, and sighed, falling into silence.

Gu Chen who had listened in silence, sighed, and said, “… In fact, His Royal Highness’s temper is really not so bad.”

Although He Ziming has a fierce temper, he is really not so kind to him …

If he was, Gu Chen would not have the opportunity to quarrel with He Ziming.

He also remembers that He Ziming once protected him with his own dragon body.

“All I can do is just to persuade you to say a little less in the future.” He Zisheng sighed sadly, looking like a very good friend: “Yes, Ziqing, do you know that father intends to arrange my elder brother’s marriage? “

Gu Chen clenched his hand tightly around the wine cup, his brows caught in a deep frown.

Seeing Gu Chen’s expression, He Zisheng immediately said: “It seems that my elder brother has not told you, and I’ve said too much … I think my brother must not have wanted to make you sad, so he hesitated to tell you.”

“What’s going on?” As soon as He Ziming acted as if he wanted to swallow his words back down into his throat, Gu Chen couldn’t wait to ask.

He Zisheng sighed and hesitated, before leaning forward, as if he finally made a decision to side with Gu Chen, his best friend. He said, “The other party is the di daughter of the head minster in charge of the Ministry of Education. The Ministry of Rites have approved her, saying she would be an excellent mother of the world. When the emperor proposed it, my elder brother did not explicitly reject it… it seems that the emperor might soon hand down the marriage decree.”

Gu Chen’s heart sank to the bottom instantly, and his face was very ugly.

“When I heard it, my heart ached for Ziqing. My elder brother is the crown prince, and it is impossible for him not to marry and carry on the bloodline, but… Ziqing, what will you do?” He Zisheng sighed…

He Zisheng knew that Gu Chen had planned to not marry as long as He Ziming lived.

Gu Chen’s eyes were bottomless.

He Zisheng glanced at him, then went on to say: “My elder brother himself is getting married, but because of his love for you, he will never let you marry. If you are also willing to never marry for the length of his life, what will happen to your noble family? You can refuse to marry in the short term, but after a two years, or three, or ten years… Someone will notice that you’re so intimate with the emperor, and that you’ve never married or taken a woman, and will figure out your relationship. At that time, the rumors and gossip will swirl through the court, and I’m afraid that Ziqing will have to live as an infamous adulterer who lives only to serve the monarch.”

“Meanwhile, the Gu family will be left childless and besmirched by gossip. How can you face your mother and father at that time?” He Ziming seemed to worry about Gu Chen’s future very much.

Gu Chen was silent.

He Zisheng could see that his remarks had hit his weakness.

He Zisheng took a sip of tea, and said with a sad heart, “I still have something to say, but I don’t know if it’s inappropriate of me to say this…. Perhaps I should mind my own business.”

“You’re my brother, Chang’an, whatever you want to say, just say it. Is there anything we’ve ever hidden from each other?” Gu Chen frowned slightly. Although he was greatly stimulated, he still maintained his dignity.

He Zisheng said in a deep voice: “I just want to remind you that you’ve been fighting with my elder brother for days. It’s been a long time since you’ve seen him and talked calmly, let alone spent time alone together.”

“So, don’t let people take advantage of your fight. At least for now, my elder brother still doesn’t have another lover, and is still with you,” he reminded.

Gu Chen suddenly sharpened: “What do you know?”

“I heard that after my elder brother quarreled with you, he would visit an actor. I know that elder brother is probably just doing it to make you jealous. After all, there’s no way a humble opera singer could compete with you. My eldest brother would never be interested in that little singer.” He Zisheng leaned forward, whispering, “But no one knows what the actor is plotting. Sometimes, we have to guard against such small characters. Ziqing, remember this advice.”

Gu Chen nearly crushed the cup of wine in his hand, his face was ugly.

He Zisheng saw his terrible expression, and was inexplicably happy in his heart. After pretending to act as a good friend, He Zisheng took out a number of scrolls and handed them to Gu Chen. Shifting the topic, he said, “Only Ziqing can help me in this matter.”

“… Chang’an, what’s going on?” Gu Chen was shocked after scanning the documents.

He Zisheng looked at him calmly and said: “I want to expose elder brother’s faults in front of the father and show my own talent. In the end, I am also a prince, Ziqing. I also have to think about my own future, and that of my mother…I can’t keep being a dog eating the scraps of the crown prince.”

“Then why don’t you tell Changfeng about this to his face?” Gu Chen frowned.

He Zisheng persuaded: “Zi Qing, I can only secretly hide this matter from my elder brother. My brother’s temperament is very erratic. I dare not speak of this with him, and I dare not let him know my mind. Who knows what he’ll choose to do after discovering it? I can only hide and speak this matter later, in front of witnesses…”

“But …” Gu Chen wanted to say something.

He Zisheng interrupted him first: “I know my brother treats me very well, and I should be grateful, but how can I not worry when the enmity between us can never be solved… Would he truly like to see me flourish? I’ve already followed him for many years. While his nature is callow and capricious, he has still paved the way for many followers, advancing their careers, giving them opportunities… but never for me.”

“I still have so long to live. I can’t just remain obscurely in the shadows. This is my only chance. Ziqing, please help me. I don’t know my brother’s mind, but I know that you are the only person who can help me conceal this matter from my brother’s eyes.” He Zisheng held Gu Chen’s hand tightly and begged, “This is not a big problem for the crown prince, just a little embarrassment. I know my elder brother won’t blame you. This is the only hope for me, Ziqing, please help me.”

After thinking about it, Gu Chen thought that the matter truly was not a big deal. Surely, if he hid this, He Ziming wouldn’t blame him even if he did become angry.

He closed his eyes and said, “Chang’an, don’t beg, I’ll help you.”

“Thank you, Ziqing! You have to remember that before this matter is settled, you must never let my elder brother know even an inkling about it… I’m really…really frightened and unsure of his mind.” He Zisheng was grateful to tears, and repeatedly advised.

Gu Chen’s head was full of thoughts of He Ziming, and he couldn’t care about other things. He promised: “Okay.”

Looking at his tired expression, the corner of He Zisheng’s lips rose into a strange smile.

12 thoughts on “Chapter 12

  1. sorry to say but mr gu is a horrible person

    Thanks for the translation❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So that’s why this looked very familiar. 😂 i already read this.
    Really should take notes of things i’ve read… still a nice re-read 💕
    Again, thank you so much for translating 💕💕💕

    Like

    1. Same here lol I’ve already read it but forgot since I haven’t been jotting down what I am reading. 🤦‍♀
      But I still read it since I kinda forgot the whole plot lol.

      Thank you translator-nim.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ohhhh this angsty that came after knowing what a scheming dog our ml is really disturbing, hope our mc can protect himself from the schemes of these backstabbers

    Like

Leave a comment